NACOLE Flame Award

Award Nomination Form

The NACOLE Flame Award recognizes long-term contributions to law enforcement, jail, and prison oversight and a demonstrated commitment to NACOLE’s mission, vision, and values.

Nominators must address one or more criteria below which will be used as the basis for evaluation. Nominators should clearly indicate which criteria they are addressing and provide sufficient information - including links to relevant webpages and documents - to evaluate the nominee.

  1. Impact on the civilian oversight community
  2. Sphere of influence
  3. Advocacy for greater transparency
  4. Community engagement and outreach
  5. Innovation to civilian oversight practices
  6. Commitment to NACOLE’s mission, vision, and values

Past FLAME award recipients include:

Christy Lopez, Deputy Chief of the Special Litigation Section in the U.S. Department of Justice Civil Rights Division, who played a major role in pattern and practice investigations of law enforcement agencies.

Charles Reynolds, a national and international policing expert who consulted on police organizational and management issues in 18 states and internationally, served as monitor of several federal consent decrees, was a police practices expert for the U.S. Department of Justice’s Civil Rights Division, and served for nine years on NACOLE’s Board of Directors.

John Mack, a Los Angeles attorney and civil rights and community leader who fought tirelessly for decades to fundamentally change the culture of the LAPD and Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department—through litigation, advocacy, community and political pressure, and civilian oversight. He served as a member of the LAPD Board of Police Commissioners from 2005 through 2014, where he played a major role in helping the LAPD develop and implement significant reforms of its policies, procedures, and investigations concerning biased policing, and helped the Department achieve full compliance with the federal consent decree that had been in place since 2001.

Nomination for this year's awards will be accepted through Wednesday, July 31, 2024, 5:00 pm PT. For more information and to submit your nomination(s) please click HERE