NACOLE Academic Symposium

New Frontiers in Independent Oversight of Jails, Prisons, and Police

The National Association for Civilian Oversight of Law Enforcement (NACOLE) and the University of Texas School of Law and Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs are pleased to announce the next event in NACOLE’s academic conference series: New Frontiers in Independent Oversight of Jails, Prisons, and Police.

This one-day symposium will be held on Friday, March 6, 2020 at the University of Texas School of Law. The event will bring together practitioners, policy makers, policing and corrections experts, and advocates for independent civilian oversight of law enforcement with a broad range of academics pursuing research and scholarship in the areas of policing, corrections, and/or civilian oversight of law enforcement and corrections. More broadly, the event will take a look at current research in the field, place scholars in conversation with practitioners, and determine possible courses for future efforts in the field. Select conference papers will be published in the American Journal of Criminal Law and other venues as appropriate.

Symposium RegistrationAcademic Symposium Schedule (Updated December 23, 2019)

We are honored to host the following speakers at this year's event:

Eva Aizpurua, Ph.D., Research Fellow, Trinity College Dublin
Andrea Armstrong, J.D., Law Visiting Committee Distinguished Professor of Law, Loyola University New Orleans College of Law
Shima Baradaran-Baughman, J.D., Professor, University of Utah College of Law
Sarah Brayne, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Raymond Dickson Centennial Endowed Teaching Fellowship, University of Texas at Austin  Julian Clark, J.D., Policing Project Fellow, Policing Project NYU School of Law
Robert L. Cohen, M.D., Board Member, New York City Board of Corrections
Michele Deitch, J.D., Senior Lecturer, University of Texas School of Public Affairs and School of Law
Martha King, M.P.P-U.R.P, Independent Consultant
Nancy LaVigne, Ph.D., Vice-President, Justice Policy, Urban Institute
Aaron Littman, J.D., Binder Clinical Teaching Fellow, UCLA School of Law
Robin Mejia, Ph.D., Center for Human Rights, Carnegie Mellon University
Eric Miller, LL.M., Professor and Leo J. O'Brien Fellow, Loyola Law School
Eva Ruth Moravec, M.A., Executive Director, Texas Justice Initiative
Jennifer Scaife, M.F.A., M.A., Executive Director, Correctional Association of New York
Seth Stoughton, J.D., Associate Professor, University of South Carolina School of Law
Meme Styles, MPA, Founder & President, Measure Austin
Emily Turner, J.D., Acting Deputy Executive Director, New York City Board of Corrections
Mike Vitoroulis, B.A., Research Fellow, National Association for Civilian Oversight of Law Enforcement
Melanie Worsley, J.D., Associate Professor & Chair, Criminal Justice & Legal Studies, Washburn University
Ivan Zinger, J.D., Ph.D., Adjunct Professor of Law, Carleton University and Correctional Investigator of Canada

If you are currently an executive in oversight, please make plans to join us on March 7th for an executive leadership forum to also be held at the University of Texas School of Law.  Additional registration and schedule details will be sent out in the near future.

*Please note that in the event you should need to cancel your registration, a refund will be issued minus a $25.00 processing fee. Refund requests made after February 14, 2020 will not be honored however, registrations are transferable upon written request.

March 06, 2020 at 8:30am - 5:30pm
University of Texas School of Law
727 E Dean Keeton St
Austin, TX 78705
United States
Google map and directions
NACOLE DIrector of Training & Education · · (317) 721-8133